Photos               //

Portraits             //


Actions Sociales  //

Enseignement    //


Vidéos                  //

" There were cheers, too, for Soumm's account of the Lalo work. The Russian violinist brought a lush tone, technical aplomb and abundant personality to the performance, nowhere more impressively than in the emotional, gypsy-         flavored Andante." (Baltimore Symphony Orchestra | Marin Alsop | Lalo- Symphonie Espagnole)

— Tim Smith, The Baltimore Sun, May 2016

" Alexandra Soumm, violin soloist in Lalo's Symphonie Espagnol, seemed to take all the applause in her stride as she captured the flamenco and tango moods of the work's highly atmospheric and virtuosic five movements. Her violin sang with all the dark, sultry passion of a Carmen. The audience loved her and were rewarded with a beautifully reflective Telemann encore." (BBC Philharmonic | Juanjo Mena | Lalo- Symphonie Espagnol)
— William Ruff, Nottingham Post, March 2015


" She gave a fiery, impulsive and edgy account of Sibelius’s Violin Concerto, flamboyant and scorching, but she inhabited the work, her virtuosity serving the music and her particular view of it. Soumm has a generous spirit and found real soul in the slow movement." (Detroit Symphony Orchestra | Leonard Slatkin | Sibelius Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47)

— Colin Anderson, Classical Source, November 2013 

" In Prokofiev’s Five Melodies op.35a, Soumm produced delicate lyrical shaping, controlled and expressive. The great Romantic swagger familiar from the Grieg was back in spades for Strauss’s E flat major Sonata, tempered with a broad and subtle range of mood and colour. The slow movement had tenderness and poetry...before the fireworks of the last movement, with Soumm technically dazzling, and smiling with the fun of it all." (Recital at Wigmore Hall, London) 
— Tim Homfray, The Strad, January 2013 

" It positively sizzled but not at the expense of the lovely Mendelssohnian lyricisms. A former child prodigy, Alexandra is now a mature 23 year old who delivers playing of astonishing power from a slight frame in a way that seems to defy nature. The three component parts of orchestra, conductor and soloist were interpretively at one, negotiating their way through roller coaster tempi with perfect ensemble. A wonderful moment was Mendelssohn’s cadenza towards the end of the first movement delivered quite stunningly by the soloist." (Royal Northern Sinfonia | Janusz Piotrowicz | Mendelssohn Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64)
— John Leeman, Seen and Heard International, May 2012

Interview & Video for Sennheiser :

Interviews for the Three Six Five Club :

Presse & Critique //


© Alexandra Soumm | 2017

All rights reserved - Created by Véra Tomas